

RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT OFFICE OF WASTE MANAGEMENT 235 Promenade Street, Room 380 Providence, Rhode Island 02908

Guidance for Completing the Rhode Island Registration Form for Manufacturers of Covered Electronic Products (CEPs)

Please use this guidance to complete the *Registration Form for Manufacturers of Covered Electronic Products*. This guidance document is not a substitute for the legal requirements of any applicable statutes or regulations and you should review all applicable laws prior to completing the registration form.

Introduction

The Rhode Island Electronic Waste Prevention, Reuse and Recycling Act (R.I.G.L. Chapter 23-24.10) was amended in 2017. Under RI's electronic waste law, Manufacturers of covered electronic products (CEPs) have individual financial responsibility to takeback and recycle their products at the end of the product's useful life from both households and public/private elementary & secondary schools. Manufacturers of (CEPs) offered for sale for delivery in Rhode Island still must register with the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management (RIDEM) and pay to the Department a registration fee of five thousand dollars (\$5,000). As we have done in the past, RIDEM is utilizing the Electronics Recycling Coordination Clearinghouse's website www.ecycleregistration.org so Manufacturers can register their brands and products.

Electronics retailers are prohibited from offering covered electronic products for sale in Rhode Island from Manufacturers not registered with RIDEM and not in compliance with RI's electronic waste law.

Who Must Register with RIDEM?

Any Manufacturer of CEPs as defined in <u>RI's electronic waste law</u> must register with RIDEM by utilizing <u>www.ecycleregistration.org</u>. For questions about whether a product fits the definition of a covered electronic product, please contact Alyson Brunelli at <u>Alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov</u>.

Please refer to R.I.G.L. Chapter 23-24.10 for a complete list of all applicable definitions.

Section 1: Registration and Fee Information

By January 1, 2009, and each year thereafter, Manufacturers of covered electronic products (CEPs) offered for sale for delivery in Rhode Island shall register with the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management (RIDEM) and pay to the Department a registration fee of five thousand dollars (\$5,000). Thereafter, if a Manufacturer has not previously filed a registration, the Manufacturer shall file a registration with RIDEM prior to any offer for sale for delivery in Rhode Island of the Manufacturer's new CEPs and shall pay to RIDEM the required registration fee. In accordance with R.I.G.L. Chapter 23-24.10, all Manufacturers shall pay the same registration fee. A Manufacturer's registration will not be processed without the fee. Please make checks payable to "*RIDEM* – *Environmental Response Fund*."

Manufacturers shall register with RIDEM by utilizing the Electronics Recycling Coordination Clearinghouse's website <u>www.ecycleregistration.org</u>. The Signature/Certification Form shall be submitted, along with the registration fee to RIDEM by October 15th. All forms and documents submitted to RIDEM should be clearly marked with the registrant's name. You should retain a copy of all documents for your files.

At the time of registration, Manufacturers shall indicate whether they are in private or State programs. Only Manufacturers with at least 5% of either the market or return share can form private programs. Manufacturers with less than 5% of either market or return share must take part in the State program.

Section 2. Registrant Information

When completing this section, please abide by the following:

- In the "<u>Manufacturer Information</u>" section, please complete the entire table for the Manufacturer being registered.
- In the "Primary Contact Information" section, please provide all requested information for the individual RIDEM will use as the primary point of contact for the Manufacturer.
- If the "<u>Billing Contact Information</u>" is not the same as the Primary Contact Information, please complete.

Section 3. Recycling Plan Information

Manufacturers choosing to implement their own **Manufacturer Program** or participate in a **Group Manufacturer Program** with other Manufacturers must submit a detailed implementation plan on a template provided by the Department to RIDEM for approval with the registration form and fee.

A **Manufacturer Program** or a **Group Manufacturer Program** implementation plan as submitted to RIDEM must describe how the Manufacturer will finance, manage and conduct a statewide program to collect CEPs from households and public & private elementary and secondary schools in RI; provide for environmentally sound management practices to collect, transport and recycle covered electronic products; provide for advertising and promotion of collection opportunities statewide and on a regular basis; and include convenient service statewide.

<u>Please Note:</u> For Manufacturers that were part of a Manufacturer Program or a Group Manufacturer Program in a previous year, we require that you submit an updated plan for the upcoming Program Year. DEM will be closely reviewing the Individual Manufacturer Programs and Group Manufacturer Programs to ensure compliance with RI's electronic waste law.

Opportunities for Manufacturers to combine together to implement **Group Manufacturer Programs** are not open to all Manufacturers based upon adopted market share and return share information.

<u>Note:</u> In accordance with <u>R.I.G.L. Chapter 23-24.10</u>, all Manufacturer private plans <u>must</u> include a statement concerning exceedances and exemptions under the RoHS Directive.

For more information regarding specific requirements for implementing a **Manufacturer Program** or a **Group Manufacturer Program**, please consult <u>R.I.G.L. Chapter 23-24.10</u>.

<u>Note:</u> Beginning in 2017 and each year thereafter, all Manufacturer plans must include quarterly reports including but not limited to the weights collected and allocated to each Manufacturer since January 1 on a template provided by the Department.

Section 4. Brand/CEP Information

In the table provided in the registration form, list all the Manufacturer's brands for which the Manufacturer has legal responsibility and is registering with this form. Also include in the table the corresponding type of CEP by Manufacturer brand and an indication of whether it is a *historical brand* or a *brand still being manufactured and sold*.

Section 5. Certification & Signature

After the registration form is completed, the Signature/Certification Form must be <u>signed by the Manufacturer</u>. By their signature, they certify that they are familiar with the information submitted in the registration form, and that the information is true, accurate and complete. The registration will be considered incomplete unless all signatures are provided. A hardcopy of the Signature/Certification Form shall be <u>submitted to RIDEM</u> along with the registration fee by October 15th.

Staff from RIDEM will be in contact should they have any questions about the completed registration form. *All documents/information relevant to RI's electronic waste law can be found at:* http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/wastemanagement/facilities/e-waste.php.

Questions or for templates for Plans or Quarterly Reports contact Alyson Brunelli, RIDEM at <u>alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov</u> or 401-222-2797 x7134.